Reflections on Job and the Problem of Suffering

Part III: God Speaks

Robert Hinkle
2 min readNov 29, 2021
Photo by Khamkéo Vilaysing on Unsplash

Job has argued his innocence. Bildad, Eliphaz, and Zophar have argued against Job’s innocence because God is just. Elihu, in his youth, has told everyone they’re wrong. Even though they don’t know why Job is suffering, he says, God is just, so Job is in the wrong to accuse God.

And now, God appears in a whirlwind and what does God say?

Basically, through a long description of God’s daily schedule and activities of how God is running every detail of the universe while also taking time to admire the behemoth and leviathan that God proudly created, God invites Job to trust God because God sees every little detail of, well, everything, and Job sees very little.

God’s speech has become my favorite part of this book in recent years, and I think it’s because I’ve begun to embrace more and more of the mystery of life and expect things to be less and less black and white. The more I give to mystery, it seems, the more trust I put in God. Having certainty about things that are actually uncertain takes away from opportunities to place more trust in God.

God’s answer brings to mind the words of the apostle Paul, “For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then we will see face to face. Now I know only in part; then I will know fully, even as I have been fully known” (1 Cor. 13:12). God’s response reminds Job and reminds us how little we really know. We are like Paul, only knowing in part, but God already fully knows us!

Job’s last words are an utterance of humility:

“I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted. ‘Who is this that hides counsel without knowledge?’ Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know. ‘Hear, and I will speak; I will question you, and you declare to me.’ I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees you; therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes.” Job 42:2–6

God’s final comment is surprising. God tells Eliphaz that him and the other two (Elihu is surprisingly not addressed) have spoken wrongly of God, but Job has spoken rightly. If you’ve read the book, this is where your mind comes to a screeching halt.

When has Job spoken rightly of God?

Stick around for the final part in this series where we’ll examine this very question. Then, we’ll conclude by considering how everything that’s been discussed applies to us today. Until then, read Job 38–42 so you’ll be ready for the conclusion!

Part IV link: https://rahinkle.medium.com/reflections-on-job-and-the-problem-of-suffering-ba3ee563f021

--

--

Robert Hinkle

Imagination is a powerful thing. On Twitter and Instagram @hinkle3_trey. Writing more frequently on Substack: treyhinkle.substack.com